2019 BCAM COLLEGE COACHES OF THE YEAR

Jordan Sweeney - University of Michigan - Dearborn Women's College Coach of the Year

The University of Michigan-Dearborn women's basketball team, under the direction of head coach Jordan Sweeney, completed the most successful regular season in program history. The Wolverines record was 24-7 overall and 15-5 in the Wolverine Hoosier Athletic Conference. This placed UM-Dearborn in a tie for third place in the WHAC, the highest finish ever in league play. The 24 win total surpassed the program record of 16 wins set by the 1978-79 and 2008-09 teams. Coach Sweeny's defensive focus guided the Michigan-Dearborn team to end the season as leaders in the WHAC in turnover margin (+7.55), blocks per game (4.36) and steals per game (11.07). In addition, the Wolverines were second in the WHAC in scoring, averaging 72.2 ppg. The Cedarville, Michigan native just concluded his third season as a collegiate head coach.

Patrick Daniel - Lake Michigan College Women's Junior College Coach of the Year

Head Coach Patrick Daniel and the Lady Red Hawks of Lake Michigan College garnered awards at the league, state, district and national level during the 2018-19 campaign. The Lady Red Hawks' record was 28-7 overall 16-2 in the MCCAA Western Conference, earning them their first outright MCCAA Western Conference title since the 1996-97 season. Coach Patrick Daniel was named the Western Conference Co-Coach of the Year. The LMC women's basketball team also won the 2018-19 MCCAA State Championship. This was Lake Michigan's first MCCAA State Championship since the 2000-01 season. The 2019 NJCAA Region XII District G Champions advanced to the NJCAA Division II National Tournament.

Ryan Cottingham – Spring Arbor College Men's College Coach of the Year

Coach Cottingham led Spring Arbor to their first ever Crossroads League regular season championship and first ever NAIA DII National Championship. The Cougars finished the season with a school record 30 wins and only 7 losses. He was selected as the 2019 Crossroads League Coach of the Year as well as the NAIA National Coach of the Year. Ryan just finished his 20th season at Spring Arbor and is the winningest coach in school history with 362 career wins.

Dale Vos – St. Clair County Community College Men's Junior College Coach of the Year

Coach Vos led St. Clair County Community College to a 27-8 record in the Michigan Community College Athletic Association. The Skippers finished strong, winning the NJCAA District 10 Men's Basketball Tournament Championship with an 88-71 win over Henry Ford Community College. For the first time ever St. Clair then advanced to the NJCAA DII Men's National Basketball Championship in Danville, IL. In 28 seasons, Coach Vos has an overall record of 380-355. This year's mark of 27 wins was the best since the Skippers won 30 games during the 1968-69 season.